Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bloody Greasy Knuckles- Street Off-Road Race Show.

Home*Latest imagesRegisterLog in
We Thank You For Your Support!

Intercoolers..... SMH.

Go down 
+2
ARMAZECRETA
03RedSRT4
6 posters
AuthorMessage
03RedSRT4
Clutchless Shifting
03RedSRT4

Intercoolers..... SMH. Empty
PostSubject: Intercoolers..... SMH.   Intercoolers..... SMH. I_icon_minitimeSun Aug 12, 2012 1:14 pm

Spurred from a PM this morning............

I feel strongly that the stocker was adequate from the factory for many reasons. Front end stability, crash bar retention, price, maintenance, attention, I could go on... I chose to stick with the stocker, all the while investigating the possibilities of cooler air and how to get it. I studied CryO kits, both N2O and CO2, and found them to be pipedreams. It's a great idea, that was POORLY executed by the industry. Only one company got it right, and I can't remember their name but I have only seen ONE on an SRT, and I think it was like $800.

IMO, intercooler manufacturers have failed us immensely. Making a poor design is one thing, convincing everyone they are necessary to make XXX hp was salt in an open wound.

I wanted cooler charge temps, and found the most effective way I believe. (Without nitrous) Water injection. This is my substitution: [You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

In my old datalogs, I saw a 300* drop in [Calculated] EGT's with an M5 and the 150psi pump. I now have the 200psi pump, and am sticking with the M5. Should I have gone bigger? Maybe, but I don't think that Coolingmist accuretly depict their hp range windows for each nozzle. There is more to the story than power. If they recommend the M5 for, say 300 to 400 hp, that's inadequate when one guy makes 400 hp on 15psi, and another guy makes 400hp on 30psi. See the flaw?